Computational Physics, FYTN03

Home

Schedule

Literature

Projects

Examination

Contact



Schedule


NOTE: Lecture notes will be updated online before or right after each lecture. Some lecture notes below are therefore from the previous year.

More details about the lectures


Module A = Error Estimation, Ordinary Differential Equations, Numerical Integration, Fast Fourier Transforms
Module B = Partial Differential Equations
Module C = Stochastic Processes, Monte Carlo Methods, Optimization


week 35
Tue Aug 29 Introductory meeting,
Module A (Lecture 1)
Lundmarkssalen (Astronomy) 13.15-15.00 Tobias Module A lecture notes
Tue Aug 29 Computer
Introduction
Computer rooms, Astronomy 16.15 - 20.00 Najmeh/Nils/Joel euler.m,
euler.cpp,
euler.java Euler_code.py
Euler_mob.ipynb
Thu Aug 31 Module A (Lecture 2) HUB, theoretical physics (NOTE!) 13.15-15.00 Tobias Module A exercises



week 36
Tue Sep 5 Module A (Lecture 3) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Tobias -
Tue Sept 5 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15 - 19.00 Najmeh/Joel -
Thu Sept 7 Module A (Lecture 4) HUB 13.15-15.00 Tobias -
Sun Sept 10 Deadline, Module A (ODE) project -



week 37
Mon Sept 11 Module A (Lecture 5) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Tobias -
Tue Sept 12 Module B (Lecture 1) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Pawel Module B lecture notes
Thu Sept 14 Module B (Lecture 2) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Pawel Module B exercises



week 38
Mon Sep 18 Module B (Lecture 3) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Pawel -
Tue Sep 19 Module B (Lecture 4) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Pawel -
Tue Sep 19 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15-19.00 Nils/Najmeh -
Thu Sep 21 Module B (Lecture 5) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Pawel -



week 39
Mon Sep 25 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 13.15-17.00 Nils/Joel -
Tue Sep 26 Module C (Lecture 1) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Bosse Module C lecture notes, part 1
Thu Sep 28 Module C (Lecture 2) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Bosse Module C lecture notes, part 2 Module C exercises
Sun Oct 1 Deadline, Module B (PDE) project -



week 40
Mon Oct 2 Module C (Lecture 3) HUB 13.15-15.00 Bosse -
Tue Oct 3 Exercise session HUB (Theoretical Physics) 13.15-17.00 Nils/Joel -
Thu Oct 5 Module C (Lecture 4) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Bosse Module C lecture notes, part 3 Module C lecture notes, part 4
Thu Oct 5 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15-17.00 Joel/Nils -
Fri Oct 6 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 10.00-12.00 Joel/Nils -



week 41
Tue Oct 10 Module C (Lecture 5) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Bosse -
Thu Oct 12 Module C (Lecture 6) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Bosse -
Thu Oct 12 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15-19.00 Joel/Nils -
Sun Oct 15 Deadline, Module C (stochastic processes or optimization) project -


week 42
Mon Oct 16 Exercise session HUB 13.15-15.00 Najmeh/Nils -
Thu Oct 19 Exercise session HUB 13.15-15.00 Joel/Najmeh -


week 43
Thu Oct 26 Exam Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.00-17.00 - Practice questions
Exam 2009 (solutions) Exam 2008 (solutions)


ODE=Ordinary Differential Equations
SP=Stochastic Processes
OT=Optimization Techniques
PDE=Partial Differential Equations