Computational Physics, FYTN03

Home

Schedule

Literature

Projects

Examination

Contact



Schedule


NOTE: Lecture notes will be updated online before or right after each lecture. Some lecture notes below are therefore from the previous year.

More details about the lectures


Module A = Error Estimation, Ordinary Differential Equations, Numerical Integration, Fast Fourier Transforms
Module B = Partial Differential Equations
Module C = Stochastic Processes, Monte Carlo Methods, Optimization


week 36
Tue Sep 4 Introductory meeting, Module A (Lecture 1) Lundmarkssalen (Astronomy) 13.15-15.00 Tobias Module A lecture notes
Tue Sep 4 Computer Introduction Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15 - 19.00 Björn/Nils/Albertas euler.m euler.cpp euler.java euler.py Python notebook
Thu Sep 6 Module A (Lecture 2) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Tobias Module A exercises



week 37
Mon Sep 10 Module A (Lecture 3) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Tobias -
Tue Sep 11 Module A (Lecture 4) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Tobias -
Tue Sept 11 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15 - 19.00 Björn/Albertas -
Thu Sept 13 Module A (Lecture 5) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Tobias -
Sun Sept 16 Deadline, Module A (ODE) project -



week 38
Mon Sept 17 Module B (Lecture 1) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Tobias Module B lecture notes (1-4)
Tue Sept 18 Module B (Lecture 2) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Tobias -
Thu Sept 20 Module B (Lecture 3) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Tobias Module B exercises



week 39
Tue Sep 25 Module B (Lecture 4) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Tobias -
Tue Sep 25 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15-19.00 Nils/Björn -
Thu Sep 27 Module B (Lecture 5) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Bosse -



week 40
Mon Oct 1 Module B (Lecture 6) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Bosse -
Mon Oct 1 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15-19.00 Nils/Albertas -
Tue Oct 2 Module C (Lecture 1) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Bosse Module C lecture notes, part 1
Wed Oct 3 Deadline, Hand-in of your code(s) for Module B (PDE) project -
Thu Oct 4 Oral presentations module B Cassiopeia 10.15-12.00 -
Thu Oct 4 Oral presentations module B Andromeda 13.15-17.00 -
Fri Oct 5 Oral presentations module B Andromeda 10.15-12.00 -
Fri Oct 5 Oral presentations module B Andromeda 13.15-17.00 -



week 41
Mon Oct 8 Module C (Lecture 2) Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 Bosse Module C lecture notes, part 2 Module C exercises
Tue Oct 9 Exercise session Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-17.00 Albertas/Nils -
Thu Oct 11 Module C (Lecture 3) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Bosse Module C lecture notes, part 3 Module C lecture notes, part 4
Thu Oct 11 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15-17.00 Albertas/Nils -



week 42
Mon Oct 15 Module C (Lecture 4) HUB (Theoretical Physics) 13.15-15.00 Bosse -
Tue Oct 16 Module C (Lecture 5) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Bosse -
Thu Oct 18 Module C (Lecture 6) Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.15-15.00 Bosse -
Thu Oct 18 Project
guidance
Computer rooms, Astronomy 15.15-19.00 Albertas/Nils -
Sun Oct 21 Deadline, Module C (stochastic processes or optimization) project -


week 43
Mon Oct 22 Extra time slot Lundmarkssalen 13.15-15.00 - -
Tue Oct 23 Exercise session HUB (Theoretical Physics) 13.15-15.00 Albertas/Nils -
Thu Oct 25 Exercise session HUB (Theoretical Physics) 13.15-15.00 Albertas/Nils -


week 44
Tue Oct 30 Exam Andromeda/Cassiopeia 13.00-17.00 - Practice questions
Exam 2009 (solutions) Exam 2008 (solutions)